NJC Recommends Appointment of 11 Supreme Court Justices

The Supreme Court of Nigeria is set to have 11 new justices, as the National Judicial Council (NJC) has recommended their appointment. The NJC announced this in a statement by its Director of Information, Soji Oye, on Wednesday, after its 104th meeting where it deliberated on the list of candidates for the apex court bench.

The recommended justices are Jummai Hannatu Sankey, Chidiebere Nwaoma Uwa, Chioma Egondu Nwosu-Iheme, Haruna Simon Tsammami, Moore Aseimo Adumein, Obande Festus Ogbuinya, Stephen Jonah Adah, Habeeb Adewale O. Abiru, Jamilu Yammama Tukur, Sadiq Umar, and Mohammed Baba Idris.

The appointment of the new justices is expected to fill the vacancies in the Supreme Court, which has been operating with only 10 justices instead of the constitutional 21 – the lowest number in history – due to retirement of some justices without replacement.