Presidential Tussle: 7 Supreme Court Justices to Decide Tinubu, Atiku, Obi’s Fate Today

The Supreme Court will today (Thursday) deliver its verdict on the presidential election of February 25, 2023, which was contested by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress (APC), former Vice President Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), and Peter Obi of the Labour Party.

The seven justices of the apex court who will determine the outcome of the election are John Inyang Okoro, Uwani Musa Abba-Aji, Mohammed Lawal Garba, Ibrahim Saulawa, Adamu Jauro, Tijjani Abubakar and Emmanuel Agim.

The election has been a subject of intense legal battle at the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal (PEPT) and the Supreme Court, with supporters of the various parties anxiously awaiting the final judgment.

Atiku and Obi are seeking to overturn the tribunal’s decision that affirmed Tinubu’s victory, while Tinubu is confident that the Supreme Court will uphold his mandate.

Out of the five petitions filed against Tinubu’s election, only three reached the Supreme Court. The court had on Monday dismissed the appeal by the Allied Peoples Movement (APM), saying it was an academic exercise of no legal value.

The three parties have expressed their optimism that the Supreme Court will rule in their favour.

Bala Ibrahim, the APC Director of Publicity, said the evidence before the court was clear and incontrovertible that Tinubu won the election fair and square.

Ibrahim Abdullahi, the PDP Deputy National Publicity Secretary, said he hoped the Supreme Court would rise above any narrow interest and deliver justice to the Nigerian people.

Post navigation